Notes, Comments and Channels (Panopto)

Capture-panopto-notes

It is well documented on the excellent Panopto Support website how tutors and students can use these features of the Panopto Viewer. There are also videos that explain. However, we had to test the features ourselves to fully understand their functionality and to be able to advise tutors and students how to use them.

Here is what we discovered that was not immediately apparent.

Notes

  • A student cannot have some private notes and some public notes.  The “make public/private” link makes all his/her notes public or private.
  • Private notes aren’t really private because the tutor (or rather anyone with Panopto Creator rights on the recording ) can see them
  • Anyone can create a channel (not just the creator) – meaning students can do this.
  • Channel names are case-sensitive (meaning that when students join a channel there is the chance they will create a new one instead)
  • There is only a Join button for channels not a Create button. (To create one, you click on Join and type a word – the same as if you were joining one)
  • When the viewer looks at his/her notes they cannot see which are in channels and which are not.
  • If you refresh the screen or go to a different computer, the channels that you saw before, will have disappeared. (So students must remember channel names)
  • When a tutor (Creator) views his/her notes they see
    • all their notes,
    • all public notes (from all viewers),
    • all private notes (for all  viewers) – you select a user just as you select a channel.
    • all notes in channels (when they join the channel)
    • all their notes in channels even if the channel is not selected
    • If a tutor teaches two groups of students and asks each to post to a different channel, the tutor needs to know he/she has to join a particular channel to filter the notes. (This may not be immediately apparent since the tutor sees their own notes in channels without joining the channel to view)

Bookmarks

  • Bookmarks are private.
  • When the user clicks “See all your bookmarks” they see bookmarks from all recordings, not just the present recording.
  • You have to leave some text in the text box when you set a bookmark. (This may not be apparent to everyone. e.g. you don’t have to do this in a Kindle book when you set a bookmark)
  • Viewers can see their bookmarks when they view the recordings they have access to (the bookmarks appear beneath the recording)

Comments

  • Comments are public and worked as expected.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Simon Briercliffe

Historian and geographer, writer and researcher

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

%d bloggers like this: