BYOD4L Day 3 Curating

Very pushed for time today and can’t make tonight’s chat on twitter either.

I’ve had a quick scan of the #BYOD4L tweets today – another great collection of apps from Sue Beckingham on Ed Shelf and again some new ones for me.

So now we have

and tomorrow we will meet others for

  • Collaborating and
  • Creating.

What strikes me is that there are a lot of tools but when we choose one we need to choose one that can communicate with others, not only in its own group (e.g. the communicating group) but also in other groups ( a connecting tool that talks to curating tools).  This isn’t always possible – on this course we chose to use Google+, Twitter or Facebook.  Maybe some people engaged in all three but I doubt it and even though you could use something like IFTTT to publish from one to another I think it would become messy. (But correct me if I’m wrong here).

Generally speaking I am in favour of allowing our students to use their preferred apps.  When I introduce the benefits of social bookmarking I don’t insist someone use diigo if they are already using delicious.  I don’t think that would be fair or productive.  However, when we are seeking collaboration and communication between our own students, we have to find common channels and media and that is where the VLE comes into its own.  I really wish I could teach solely with social media, it would prepare the students so much better for life after university, but in reality it is so much easier if we are all on the same platform.  Certainly easier for people like myself who are responsible for training and support to support only one system.

So looking at Sue’s list of Curating tools today I see some I regularly use –

  • Evernote – I use for work and play
  • Scoopit – I use for work
  • Diigo – I use for everything
  • Pinterst – I use occasionally for non-work stuff
  • I also use Google Drive quite a lot – you can store and share all sorts of things and the allowance is generous.  And of course you can collaborate.
  • And I use Dropbox when others have instigated its use. Still I am a regular user.

I’ve heard a lot about Storify on this course so will look into that some time.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Up The Oss Road

History, the Black Country, and a bit more

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

