Attribution on OER images

A few posts ago  – http://wp.me/p23y4Q-5f – I wrote…

Where to put the attribution.

Some attributions seem quite long and I, and many academics in the institution where I work, are loath to include the information next to the resource.  What I really want to know is whether I should put the attribution beneath an image or whether I can include it in an alt tag or whether it can go at the bottom of the page well away from the image.  That really is something I hope will be answered on the MOOC as I have not had much luck asking the question on other forums in the last few months.

I also noted that on the OU’s MOOC ‘Learning Design for the 21st Century Curriculum’ there was no attribution for a picture of some lego but since my post Dave White has added one.  Well, he said he had added one and I’m sure I saw a url beneath the image pointing somewhere, though when I look on http://www.olds.ac.uk/the-course/week-6-curate I see the image with no attribution.You can click the image and that takes you to https://793645a1-a-583a0db0-s-sites.googlegroups.com/a/olds.ac.uk/oldsmooc/the-course/week-6-curate/Week6_photo.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7cpHp5ja1eyW1Au0zC7mWklhCxtgW5tAG-64Eox4UMH_IbOM9Zh0UjZijYodGAPj38by0Trkr3tOj4Hs_CUyvXfkU11KkaFU-wAtUk65sBf9JfMTje33pzIMi2MWRlM8zDr4vWWbvaP8-NJy6XISPnPdsCK_0_MeCf0bpL-7PCgptk67Ya97UsvW6dMGhZ5FJGVFoXS8dL0phkiogW96yb1qecdfFoY1TX71EJUx369zKXtq_y9hB-T23VtInCBs39Y1P2Ua&attredirects=0 though there is still no attribution.

I’m not trying to get anyone in trouble here, I’m trying to understand what we should do. At my university I am responsible for the VLE (virtual learning environment) and my advice to academics is that they should put the attribution beneath the image. This advice has been very unpopular because academics see the attribution as distracting from the image and cluttering up their VLE pages or the documents in which they are using the image.

I had a look at the BBC site to see how they attributed images and see that they add the logo of the image library to their images if they don’t own them. However, this doesn’t answer my question about where we can legitimately put the OER attribution.  I favour adding the link in the ALT tag though I guess users with screen readers may not particularly like that use of the tag.

Anyway, I’m going to leave this subject for now as week 7 of OLDS MOOC has been running for two and half days and I haven’t even looked at it yet!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Up The Oss Road

History, the Black Country, and a bit more

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

