OERs – Part 1 images. Confused over Attribution

Open Educational Resources.

This is the topic of this week’s OLDS MOOC.

I’m fairly familiar with OERs and my experience to date is as follows:

  • I’m all for using and re-purposing existing resources whenever possible instead of wasting time and money reinventing the wheel.  
  • I’m bad at being bothered to license my own materials though have been trying to do so lately.
  • Some of the academics I work with do not want to share their materials.
  • Others do but are not good at tagging them so that my experiences of adding resources to repositories has been bad.
  • I normally tell academics to search for OERs with CC Search and/or to ask their liaison librarians to help them find them.
  • I point people to the OU’s Open Learn site for ready-made Moodle courses.

Open Attribute.

One of the first new things I’ve seen on the MOOC this week is Open Attribute.  This is a browser addon which apparently recognises if your browser is displaying CC licensed materials and lets you easily copy and paste the correct attribution.

Finding the licence information has never really been an issue for me (the hard bit is finding the materials not the licence), my question has always been how to display the attribution.

Nevertheless I’ve decided to give this a go. I tend to use three browsers – Internet Explorer, Firefox and Chrome, swapping between them to exploit their strengths. I am using Chrome at the moment so downloaded and installed the Chrome addon and in doing so discovered it is in beta.  I thought about switching browsers but it’s done now, so my test will be on the beta version of Open Attribute for Chrome.

Where to put the attribution.

Some attributions seem quite long and I, and many academics in the institution where I work, are loath to include the information next to the resource.  What I really want to know is whether I should put the attribution beneath an image or whether I can include it in an alt tag or whether it can go at the bottom of the page well away from the image.  That really is something I hope will be answered on the MOOC as I have not had much luck asking the question on other forums in the last few months.

Open Search and Open Attribute: a test.

Out of interest I am going to test these online services by searching for the following and seeing whether Open Attribute makes is easy to get the attribution.

  1. An image of a British car factory – preferably in the 21st century.
  2. A presentation about the decline of the British car industry
  3. A text about the decline of the British car industry.
  4. A piece of audio (maybe an interview?) about decline of the British car industry
  5. A video about the decline of the British car industry
  6. A ready-made course about the decline of the British car industry.

I’m going to try to find material that I can modify, adapt and build upon and I do not want it for commercial purposes.

This is a live test as I write. I have no idea whether I’ll find anything!

1. The image.

I tried a few search terms until I found something that I thought I could use. Here it is, an image poignantly juxtapositioning the bright new signs at the Longbridge plant with the dilapidated fabric of the building,

MG rover Factory - bright new signs but dilapidated woodwork around the windows.

Now this image was taken by Pete Ashton (Thanks, Pete) and he kindly uploaded it to flickr and licensed it so I could use it.  The Info on flickr tells me …

Creative Commons rights.

Having installed the OpenAttribute addon to Chrome I looked in the address bar and sure enough the little Open Attribute icon was there, I clicked on it and lo and behold I got this:

creative commons licensing information.

So what I want to know now is what to do with it.  I’ve used Pete’s photo; where do I put the licensing information?  It does look as though it will take up a not inconsiderable space on my page.

this much in fact:

MG Rover | Flickr – Photo Sharing! : taken from – http://www.flickr.com/photos/peteashton/162628020/Author: Pete Ashton http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/deed.en

I also wonder what happens to the licence and my obligation to attribute correctly if I find Pete’s image on someone else’s page. Well I guess that page should refer back to Pete’s.  But I’ve been thinking about this recently as I’ve produced some training materials that I’ll use at my university which are based on OERs I’ve found on Cloudworks on this MOOC.  I’ve altered them and put the Creative Commons licence info on the bottom, but do I also need to include the licensing info of the original?  I’m confused.  It could get really out of hand.

But let’s stay with images and see how other people do things.

The image of the lego bricks, below, appears on the OLDS MOOC page for week 6 (http://www.olds.ac.uk/the-course/week-6-curate ).

lego bricks

and it also appears on the cloudworks page for this MOOC here: http://cloudworks.ac.uk/cloudscape/view/2861.

There doesn’t appear to be any licensing info associated with this image on either page. If you click on it on the old.ac.uk page you are taken to a Google Groups sites for olds.ac.uk but there is no alt tag and no further info.  There is licensing information on the page (ie not on the image) and that says:

This work by the Open Learning Design Studio (OLDS) MOOC is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 UK: England & Wales License

But does that include the image? if I want to use it, what do I do?

I decided to run it through tineye, the reverse image search engine.

The OLDS MOOC image has the url http://www.olds.ac.uk/_/rsrc/1348222058500/the-course/week-6-curate/Week6_photo.jpg

This same image appears on the following pages:

  1. uk.wikibooks.org/wiki/%D0%9…
  2. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/…
  3. he.wiktionary.org/wiki/%D7%…
  4. he.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D7%A…
  5. he.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D7%9…
  6. he.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D7%A2%D7%99%D7%A6%D7%95%D7%91_%D7%AA%D7%A2%D7%A9%D7%99…
  7. he.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D7%9C%D7%92%D7%95
  8. de.wikibooks.org/wiki/Das_S…
  9. de.wikibooks.org/wiki/Das_S…
  10. tweaktoday.com/users/a_noob/submissio…
  11. www.localtraders.com/tradesmen/blog/d…
  12. www.06blog.it/post/9917/regali-di-nat…
  13. he.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D7%A2%D7%99%D7…
  14. gadzetomania.pl/tag/zrodlo
  15. www.blogher.com/snippets/my-kids-made…
  16. lemire.me/blog/
  17. article.wn.com/view/2010/12/24/Disney…
  18. article.wn.com/view/2010/11/13/Fallin…
  19. www.scienceeditingexperts.com/adverbs…
  20. www.funnyjunk.com/funny_pictures/7161…
  21. www.nurbilder.com/picturedump_363.html
  22. www.tsr.ch/video/emissions/ttc/291630…
  23. lolz.ophibian.com/
  24. www.squidoo.com/legos
  25. hffar.com/blogs.php?id=995
  26. www.debtloanweb.info/lego-movie.html
  27. www.associatedcontent.com/article/619…
  28. voices.yahoo.com/games-whole-family-n…
  29. izit.org/content/nice-makeup.html
  30. izit.org/content/date-rape-pokemon-st…
  31. izit.org/content/riled.htmlizit.org/content/tree-doesnt-you.htmlizit.org/content/friends-benefits-infographic.html
But probably the original is the largest of the tineye results, the image  http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lego_bricks.jpg at commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/…
Open Attribute pulls the following info from that site:
I didn’t really understand that so followed the trail to
where the licensing info was. This was…
licensing info for an image
It’s this part I am not clear about: attribution – You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).”
What manner is this?  I did notice that the information on the commons.wikimedia site (http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lego_bricks.jpg) said the source of the image was flickr and gave a link to http://www.flickr.com/photos/bdesham/2432400623
This page has the following licensing info:
licensing info
I’m exhausted and am no clearer than when I started.  It must be easier than I think.  I think I’ll take a break.
What I do understand is how to find open images and how to find the open licensing info. What I do not know yet is where to put this info in my work.

One comment

  1. Hmm, my attribution on the Lego image does seem to have gone missing. I haven’t been given a court order yet though. I will put it back.:)

Leave a Reply

Simon Briercliffe

Historian and geographer, writer and researcher

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

