OLDS MOOC W3 The Wood from the Trees.

???????????????????????????????

 

Because the designers of this MOOC do not want to be too –prescriptive they throw a lot of alternatives at us, the students,  and encourage us to make up our own minds.  This week they have thrown lots of tools at us and asked us to make up our own toolkits and I have felt as though I am holding a tangle of electrical  cables in my hands, all knotted up. Some cables I  know will be useful, some I know are redundant – for pieces of kit I won’t use,  some I don’t know what they’re for and others I am convinced are duplicates – for half a dozen electric kettles. However, until I sort them out I won’t be able to use any of them.

For example in week two we were introduced to  personas, scenarios, Force Maps and the Ecology of Resources framework.  For a while I thought they were all to be used, though now I suspect any one might suffice to kick start the design process and to get a feel for the context and the constraints within which we will then design a course.

This week has been even more confusing (for me).

We were introduced to a bunch of tools from which we could choose.  These were in a “toolbox” on CloudWorks.  93 different items. In all.

  1. Activity: (née Pedagogy) Profile
  2. Activity: 10 mins A simple Cloudquest challenge (22 comments)
  3. Activity: 10 mins Sharing designs (6 comments)
  4. Activity: 10 minutes: Course Dimensions
  5. Activity: 15 mins Discussion/ thought activity OER issues and vision
  6. Activity: 20 mins A schema mapping tools and activities to four facets of learning
  7. Activity: 20 mins Deconstructing the design of an OER (2 comments)
  8. Activity: 20 mins Strategies for design (12 comments)
  9. Activity: 20 mins Strategies for design (4 comments)
  10. Activity: 20 mins: How to ruin a course (13 comments)
  11. Activity: 20 minutes: Course Map (5 comments)
  12. Activity: 25 mins The power of visualisation (7 comments)
  13. Activity: 30 mins Finding and sharing learning and teaching ideas and designs
  14. Activity: 30 mins: Design review
  15. Activity: 30 mins: Learning Outcomes view
  16. Activity: 30 mins: Workshop evaluation and next steps (1 comment)
  17. Activity: 40 mins: At a glance course maps (1 comment)
  18. Activity: 40 mins: CompendiumLD introductory activity (1 comment)
  19. Activity: 40mins: Visualisation activity (2 comments)
  20. Activity: 45 mins: Task Swimlane (14 comments)
  21. Activity: 60 minutes Stalls/ LD network activity
  22. Activity: Clustering research questions activity
  23. Activity: Talking Pictures
  24. Learning Design vs. Instructional Design (24 comments)
  25. Method: 8LEM Hybrid Model
  26. Method: A schema for mapping tools and activities to dimensions of learning
  27. Method: Card Sorting
  28. Method: OULDI – OU Learning Design Initiative
  29. Method: Schema for mapping pedagogies and technologies
  30. Oeropoly
  31. Ordspel (in Swedish)
  32. ORIOLE
  33. Participative methodology for learning design
  34. Pedagogy profile flash widget (3 comments)
  35. Plan, Do, Check/Study, Act (15 comments)
  36. Resource: A matrix for mapping technological tools against learning characteristics
  37. Resource: An OER design cycle
  38. Resource: Cloudworks leaflet
  39. Resource: Design Lifecycle
  40. Resource: Designing learning activities diagram
  41. Resource: Digital Literacies, Digital Writing and Social Media
  42. Resource: Digital Literacy Facilitation cards (3 comments)
  43. Resource: Doing more with CompendiumLD
  44. Resource: Five-category course map representation (2 comments)
  45. Resource: Getting Started With CompendiumLD
  46. Resource: Instructional Design Models
  47. Resource: JISC Design Studio – Digital Literacy Resources
  48. Resource: Learn About Learning Design Guide (2 comments)
  49. Resource: Links to OER repositories (7 comments)
  50. Resource: Map of technologies to activities
  51. Resource: Seven top tips for designs (12 comments)
  52. Resource: Six C’s of motivation
  53. Resource: Task swim-line representation
  54. Resource: The Phoebe teaching and technology guidance
  55. Resource: Wide Learning Design Template (2 comments)
  56. Template: Design challenge
  57. Template: Interactive poster session
  58. Template: Learning Design Module
  59. Template: Using technologies in teaching
  60. Template: Using the LDtoolbox with trainee teachers (sample)
  61. Template: Workshop CompendiumLD maps
  62. Tool: 8Lem Widget (Beta version) featuring Viewpoints
  63. Tool: A Learning Design Support Environment (LDSE)
  64. Tool: Beehive
  65. Tool: Bookry- widget library
  66. Tool: CADMOS (1 comment)
  67. Tool: Co-genT: Co-generative toolkit
  68. Tool: CoED – Collaborative E-learning Design (2 comments)
  69. Tool: Collage
  70. Tool: CompendiumLD
  71. TOOL: CompendiumLD learning design software
  72. Tool: Design principles database (3 comments)
  73. Tool: DialogPlus Toolkit (7 comments)
  74. Tool: KEEP
  75. Tool: LAMS (1 comment)
  76. Tool: ldShake
  77. Tool: Learning Score (2 comments)
  78. Tool: LOAM evaluation tool for e-learning materials
  79. Tool: London Pedagogic Planner (1 comment)
  80. Tool: Map my Programme. Learning design and assessment
  81. Tool: Media Advisor Toolkit (2 comments)
  82. Tool: Of Course! course design board game
  83. Tool: Pedagogical Pattern Collector
  84. Tool: Phoebe pedagogical planner
  85. Tool: ReCourse
  86. Tool: ReLoad
  87. Tool: the Learning Design Tool (2 comments)
  88. Tool: TintanPad
  89. Tool: using external tool
  90. Tool: WIDGAT (Widget Design Authoring Toolkit) (5 comments)
  91. Tool:GLOmaker – Authoring Tool for Learning Objects (1 comment)
  92. Toolkit: JISC Design Studio
  93. Toolkit: NUIG eLearning Toolkit

Now this list also includes methods and resources and activities and some of the tools are part of some of the methods  and some of the resources go with some of the tools. You get the idea. Another tangle that might be sorted out but not within the time I have this week.    I did recognise one of the methods (8LEM Hyrid model) but decided to keep things simple and only use the tools that seemed to be being advocated on the MOOC.

So I looked in the toolkit , fiddled about a bit and then closed the lid.

I then looked at the 7 Cs to see if that would help me design a course.

Under the very first C (for Conceptualise) we have:

6 course features

  1. Pedagogy
  2. Principles
  3. support
  4. content
  5. reflection
  6. communication

And we use the

54 Course Features cards to scope this, (using
12 cards in activity 1 and
16 cards in activity 2)

(The 7Cs presentation shows 10 different examples of the 6 features, making 60 in total. Of course we wouldn’t have all of them in any course we were designing  but we might need to consider them all(?)).

After looking at the features we then  create a Course Map showing the 6 features in 4 broad areas

  1. Support
  2. Content
  3. Reflection
  4. communication.

We don’t map the pedagogy or the principles.

This lets us see the balance of features in our course.  The next thing is to create an activity profile which is a bar chart breaking down the student activities into 7 categories.

  1. Assimilative
  2. Finding and using info
  3. Communication
  4. Production
  5. Experiential
  6. Interactive/adaptive
  7. Assessment

And we present this info on two spreadsheets.

I think why I find it difficult to untangle it all is because I am trying to see a workflow, to see how I can move everything from the theoretical to the practical.

I must admit I am sceptical about anything that tries to explain something when all the elements begin with the same letter. Even in the presentation of the 7Cs other terms are used – Vision, Activities, Synthesis and Implementation, which may just be adding another layer of complexity or trying to clarify what was really meant before C words were opted for.  Anyway, I’ve come to the conclusion that the 7Cs do not describe a process.

In response to my post of yesterday GC said  “It is not true that this week are are only looking at the first [C]– the Course Features is under Conceptualise Course Map and Activity Profile are under Combine.”

So now I realise that by doing the activities suggested in this week’s OLDS MOOC we have moved from Conceptualize to almost the end – Combine.

I also realise that the 7Cs does not take into account week 2’s work on context.  So, my untangling of all this is to see things in chronological stages. These may be separate meetings  of the design team or one long session with lots of coffee.

Stage 1. Contextualize by creating personas and force maps.

Stage 2. Course Features cards activity 1 (using 12 cards).

Stage 3 Course Features cards activity 1 (using 16 cards).

Stage 4 Create a Course Map.

Stage 5 Create an Activity Profile.

Of course my synthesis of everything that is available in the MOOC is absurdly simplistic but that’s how I operate. I break things down and break things down and unravel things.  I also acknowledge that I haven’t followed the OLDSMOOC’s design team’s schema in that I haven’t been doing the tasks set.  Two reasons – 1) time.  It’s taken me all week to get to grips with everything,  which I personally prefer before embarking on using it. (I’ve briefly discussed experiential learning before in this blog). 2) I do not have a need to design a course right now.  In fact I want to know about course design so I can help those who need to do it, not because I need to do it (at the moment).

There’s only one thing I’m not clear about (oh, that’s not true!) – and that’s whether the ‘activity profile’  is the Storyboard.  I notice that the learning objectives for week 3 include “develop an innovative storyboard…” but I can’t say I’ve mentioned a storyboard in the above.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve got out of week 3. I’m not sure I will be around much in week 4 as I’m off to Seville tonight for a week to get some oranges for marmalade making, but I’ll try to pop by from time to time.

tidy

One comment

  1. Clare Gormley · · Reply

    Hi Bob,
    Just wanted to say that like you, I’ve been trying to figure out a chronology of activities that will enable my team to put the principles of the 7cs into practice. I agree with your staged approach (although in my own case, I’m not sure we’ll be putting the the Stage 5 Activity Profile into effect, initally anyway). For what it’s worth, I think you’ve got the order right!
    Clare

Leave a Reply

Simon Briercliffe

Historian and geographer, writer and researcher

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

