OLDS MOOC Time considerations in learning design

I haven’t blogged for a few days as I’ve been busy with other things, though I have been continuing to read about contextual design, personas, force maps and scenarios.  This MOOC forces you to move on and that’s a good thing I think.  There’s a lot more I want to explore about Contextual Design and I know there were also discussions around the whole concept of learning design in week 1 which I have yet to assimilate. However, we are now in week three and will be looking at conceptualizing and visualising design processes.  But before I move on to the first activity (two days late) a few thoughts on contextualisation and time.

Yesterday at the university where I work I had an interesting conversation with someone who is designing an online course which will be delivered abroad, possibly by academics at another institution.  He and his colleagues have the expertise in the field and have a validated course at our institution which might demonstrate that they have learning outcomes and a syllabus in place. How this is transferred into an online course to be delivered online to students at another institution abroad is the problem he is grappling with.  Undoubtedly working on context would be very valuable, however, not knowing the students, working at a distance and with the time constraints he is working with, makes it difficult.  The main problem he is facing is working out what the time commitment for the student is – how to measure or estimate the time involved in the activities he sets, and how to calculate the time the tutor will need to spend running the course.This last point is complicated by the fact that it has yet to be decided how much the tutor will be paid to run the course. Here is a real life design issue.   it will be interesting to see how this is tackled in the OLDS MOOC. Quite possibly it has already been dealt with last week under the heading Ecology of Resources Design Framework but I have yet to get my head around that.

We have talked about roles in the design process before (in the forums and elsewhere) and I wonder how common my real life scenario is.   Here we have an academic being asked to create a course by himself (possibly with another colleague)  and deliver it online without the assistance of professional learning designers.  But that’s why I’m doing this MOOC – to find out how I can better help him.

Leave a Reply

Up The Oss Road

History, the Black Country, and a bit more

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

