OLDS MOOC W1D3 Searching Google Groups

CloudWorks.

Communication between students on the MOOC is split between CloudWorks and Google Groups,  Today a couple of people commented on one of my Clouds and I realised there is no way to thread replies or to reply privately so I was forced to post another comment to my own Cloud to answer them.

Google Groups.

But Google Groups should be better. I went over to that site to look for people with similar interests (quality assurance, usability and accessibility) but found the search box lacking features I had discovered only yesterday,

I’ll show you …

This screenshot is from: https://groups.google.com/forum/embed/?parenturl=http://www.olds.ac.uk/mooc-environment/open-discussion&service=jotspot&ul=1&theme=default&place=forum/olds-mooc-open&showpopout=true&showsearch=true&afterlogin#!forum/olds-mooc-open

1

The next screenshot is from https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/olds-mooc-open

Notice the search box in the first image has no down arrow so you cannot access al the parameters available in the second image.

I’m not embarrassed to display my ineptitude at using Google Groups because I am confident in my digital literacy skills and spend my life on the web and I was able to find my way to the page I was looking at yesterday. However, this raises a serious issue.  A less digitally literate student on this MOOC could get seriously frustrated if they follow links from inside the MOOC that seem to take them to the same place but that tool behaves differently.  Of course there’s an explanation but really I’d rather not have the need for one.

One comment

  1. […] Saturday – watched the Prezi presentation and was frustrated by  not being able to copy text from it. Still, found the (unstructured) typescript and did make some notes. Tried to engage with others about the presentation but found it odd that discussion was divided between CloudWorks and the Google Forum.  I also had some issues with search the forum and still haven’t got to the bottom of that. […]

Leave a Reply

Up The Oss Road

History, the Black Country, and a bit more

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

