OLDS MOOC W1D2 Prezi

Prezi

Today’s task was to watch a presentation and comment on it on a Google forum, which I have just done.

In this blog entry I want to reflect  not on the content of that presentation but on the mechanics of the exercise.

1.There was a lot of content in the presentation and my natural inclination is to take notes (in Evernote) and to do so by copying/pasting.  However, it was in Prezi so I could not do this.

2. I also struggled to read some of the text and then moved to the next ‘slide’ to be presented with it again magnified.  That’s just annoying.

2. Because it was in Prezi so I thought I’d have to put my iPad down and go to my laptop but no, there’s an App. I hadn’t realised that. So good. (I still viewed it on my laptop though).

3. Because I could not copy text from the Prezi I thought there should be a transcript for accessibility compliance and indeed there was, though it took some finding – down the bottom of the page under the comments..

4. Another thing I found confusing was the name – the title – for the Prezi.  It seems to me it was referred to by its title sometimes and by its description in other places and also just as ‘the prezi’.  After watching it I wanted to comment in the Google Forum and found it less than simple to locate the correct thread.  People are also discussing the video called, I suppose, ‘OLDS MOOC Introduction’ which appears also to be the name of the Prezi on  http://prezi.com/b44jwdgvs8nl/olds-mooc-introduction/ . It’s not, but it would be easy to think it was.  You may think I am being super critical but I do believe the names of things should be explicit and obvious and we should be consistent in the way we refer to them. Actually I don;t think it has got a title.

.

Leave a Reply

Up The Oss Road

History, the Black Country, and a bit more

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

