OLDS MOOC Preparing to Start

Learning Design for a 21st Century Curriculum.

I start the Open University’s MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) this week – Learning Design for a 21st Century Curriculum.

Part of participating on the MOOC is a requirement to keep a learning journal. The OU suggests CloudWorks but I’ll be doing so here and linking to here from my Cloud. (The OU’s Cloudscape – http://cloudworks.ac.uk/cloudscape/view/2417).

One of the first things to interest me in the MOOC is the way the OU has set it up and the tools they have employed.

The MOOC Tools

  • Cloudworks
  • Google+
  • Google Hangouts
  • Google Drive (they still call it Google Docs)
  • Twitter
  • Bibsonomy
  • Google Calendar
  • Youtube
  • Slideshare.

Lots of Google products which has forced me to engage a little more with the Big G although I still resist connecting all my G accounts together.  I tend to like having things separate – Facebook for personal, Twitter for work, youtube unconnected as I use it for both etc.  I need to get my head around what connecting G accounts really means. Will I need two G accounts? At present I have a g-mail account which is unconnected and a G account with a Yahoo email address.  It’s all getting a little silly.

The only tool that I haven’t previous used is Bibsonomy which looks very interesting  I use diigo for social bookmarking but Bibsonomy might offer more (or be different – we’ll see).

A colleague of mine at Newman University is working with Google’s CourseBuilder as a platform for running MOOCs but I guess the OU didn’t employ it because they were planning this MOOC before it became available.

Another approach is to use a variety of tools that are freely available. This approach was succinctly described by Inge de Waard last year in five articles she wrote for Learning Solutions Magazine.
See http://www.learningsolutionsmag.com/articles/886/

Leave a Reply

Simon Briercliffe

Historian and geographer, writer and researcher

Laurence Marks

away from the office..

AutoBeast

Random cars we like

cars&cooking

From the kitchen to the racetrack and back again

The Ali Lowe Commentary

The view from the shed...

The Lure of Speed

Vintage Motoring Blog

Rob Appleyard

My thoughts on learning, technology and stuff that makes me tick

